top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBex

Ambition

Updated: Mar 29, 2019

To me, drawing has always been a way of understanding and observing what’s around me. It taught me to understand, texture, proportions, colour and shading. I also loved to write and come up with stories. My hero for the longest time, when I was younger, was Beatrix Potter, because she did both. She wrote her stories and then brought them to life, through her paintings.

I feel that this is why I was so drawn to fashion, as an industry. Specifically, high end and couture fashion collections, in a way, tell stories. The way they are embellished, or printed, the colours and the inspiration for the designs, all attribute to the message or mood the designer was trying to convey.

It’s this, that I want to do with my career; create designs that tell stories. My strengths are in my drawing abilities, and I aspire to draw designs for print and embellishment in a high-end fashion house, such as Dolce and Gabbanna or Dior. The idea of collaborating with other designers is motivating me to consider every aspect of how I draw my designs, so that I can produce them for a variety of different process types and brand/collection aesthetics.

Perhaps, from working in a fashion house for a while, I see that I could feel a growing ambition to start my own label. However, until then, I am excited to start helping other designers tell their stories. At least until I have some of my own tales to tell.

Motif for Fashion Textiles piece, designed for St Fagans: Reimagining the Archive exhibition.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page